Reports are, unless published, private to your user. When you first create a report, it is unpublished and only you can see it.
The report will exist in a draft state until you decide to publish it. When a report is published, it is available to other users in your account. Only you can edit your own reports, but other users can copy them and republish them under another name.
You can edit any report by editing it. The previously published report will be overwritten when it is published. Other users will not see the changes you’re working on until you publish them. If you decide that you do not want to publish your changes, you can revert to the published version instead. Reverting your changes will discard your draft edits.
You can print reports by using your browser’s built-in printing, but it will look better if you use the print menu inside the application since the system will be able to remove scrollbars and other things that make sense when viewing the report on the screen but clutter up a printed copy.
You can unpublish a report if you change your mind after publishing it. It’s also possible to copy a report. Important reports can be pinned to your home screen so that they are always visible to you.
Pinning reports to the home screen¶
To pin a report to your home screen, navigate to the list of reports, either on the home screen or by searching for the report in the search bar and click on the small pin icon to the right of the report screenshot.
The report will be pinned and will always show up first on the home screen.
To unpin a report, click on the pin icon again. The report will be shown together with other reports based on when it was most recently accessed.
Unlocking a report to make changes¶
When you are viewing a report that has been published, it is initially in read-only mode. The editing tools will be hidden and the report is configured for end-users to interact with.
To make changes to a read-only report, click on the Edit button in the top right corner of the user interface. The report will be unlocked and a draft copy with your changes will be created.
After you’ve finished making changes to the report, click Publish to make your changes available to other users.
Publishing reports to other users¶
You can publish a draft report (or changes you’ve been making to a report that is already published) by clicking on the publish button in the top right corner of the user interface.
When a report is published, it will be locked and made available to other users.
Unpublishing your report¶
If you have a published report that you would like to make private so that other users cannot see it, you can unpublish it. Unpublishing a report makes it private so that only you can see it.
To unpublish a report, click on the … menu in the top right corner of the user interface and select Unpublish. The report will go back to being private to you and other user will not be able to see it.
Draft reports and saving changes¶
When you edit a report, the system will automatically monitor for changes and save them to the server. This means that you do not have to worry about losing your changes if you close your browser or reload the browser window.
The system shows the status of the synchronization in the header bar and will indicate if synchronization is offline.
Synchronization can temporarily fail if the network is offline. If that happens, reconnect to the network to resume updating the report changes to the server.
Copying an existing report¶
You can copy an existing report. This works both for your own report and those owned by other users. You’ll need to make a copy before you can edit a report that belongs to another user.
To delete a report, click on the … menu in the top right corner of the user interface and select Delete. The report will be deleted.
You cannot undelete reports so take care to not delete reports that you would like to keep.
Use the Print functionality found on the menu in the top right corner of the user interface instead of using the browser’s built-in printing.
It is possible to use the built-in print functionality as well, but the report will look better when you use the print menu since the system will make various changes to the visual design to make it look better on paper.
Refreshing a report¶
Click on the refresh button in the header bar to refresh the data in the report. The system will reload data and re-run all queries to make sure data is up-to-date with the latest information.
SQL queries you make when you work against data that has been downloaded to the browser database will continue to use the data that was downloaded when the report was loaded. Reissuing SQL queries or making changes in the data studio will not load new data from the server. This is by design since performance is greatly improved. The refresh button will always discard any loaded data and reload all information from the server.
Changing the report name¶
You can change the report name either by clicking on the name in the header bar. Type a new name and press enter. It is also possible to change the report name from the report properties dialog. To open the report properties dialog, click on the … menu in the top right corner of the user interface and select Properties.